- This article or section documents the current version of Scratch (version 3.0). For this article in Scratch 2.0, see Ribbon Bar (2.0).
- 1 Accessing the Ribbon Bar
- 2 Content
- 3 Options for a Logged-In User
- 4 Options for a Logged-Out User
Accessing the Ribbon Bar
To access the ribbon bar, the Scratch program must first be opened. Once complete, the ribbon bar automatically appears at the top of the interface. Its features can be accessed by using the mouse pointer to click on the desired function. The ribbon is divided into three subsections containing similar options.
Scratch Homepage LinkScratch Logo. Clicking the button will direct the web browser to the Scratch home page. It does not open the home page in a new tab but will replace the project editor. It cannot be right-clicked either to open the home page in a different tab.
- Main article: File Menu
The file menu contains options for the following: creating a new blank Scratch project, saving the current project either to the Scratch servers of one's local computer, and uploading a project from the computer.
- Main article: Edit Menu
The edit menu contains options for the following: Restoring the last deleted item and turning on Turbo Mode.
The "Tutorials" text with a lightbulb is a button that opens the Tutorial Library to select a Project Tutorial. This window can provide useful insight for anybody struggling to develop a project. It is especially useful for new Scratchers who have little experience.
Options for a Logged-In User
The project name will appear on the ribbon bar. Click it to change the name of the project, which automatically updates the name being shown on the browser tab.
The orange Share button shares the project to the Scratch Website.
See Project Page
This button, along with a switch icon, switches the editor to the project page, after saving.
- Main article: My Stuff
The envelope button directs the web browser to My Stuff when clicked with the mouse-pointer. When hovered over with the mouse, its color becomes darker to indicate it can be clicked. "My Stuff" is a feature of the website that contains all the Scratch projects, both shared and unshared, of the logged-in user. The page will not open in a new tab but will replace the project editor.
Username and Associated Options
When logged in, one's username will be the right-most option of the ribbon bar. Clicking this will display a drop-down menu with the following options: "Profile", "My Stuff", "Account Settings", and "Log Out". There is a darker grey line between the last two options to isolate "Log Out". If signed out, the web browser will be directed to the Scratch home page.
Options for a Logged-Out User
Scratch projects cannot be saved in the online editor to the Scratch servers unless one has a Scratch account. One has the ability to create a Scratch account without closing their current work by clicking "Join Scratch" on the ribbon bar. When selected, the editor will be darkened out and a small menu will appear in the center of the screen with steps to creating a Scratch account. Once made, the project can then be saved to the Scratch servers so the work is not lost.
|Note:||Alternatively, the project can be downloaded to one's personal computer from the File Menu to save a project.|
If one is logged out and is working on a project in the editor, they can sign in directly from the editor without ever closing the project. This can be accomplished with the "Sign in" button, which is right-most on the ribbon bar. When selected, the editor will become dark and a small menu will appear in the center of the screen where credentials can be entered. Once logged in, the project can be saved to the Scratch servers.