A Manager is the second highest rank in a studio. The highest is the Owner of the studio. Managers have special permissions which curators don't have access to. Curators can be promoted to Manager.

Capabilities

Managers can:

  • Add projects
  • Remove projects
  • Change the description
  • Change the title
  • Change the thumbnail
  • Add curators
  • Remove curators
  • Remove managers
  • Promote curators to managers


How to Become a Manager in a Studio

Main article: How do I promote someone to manager?
The button to promote a curator to a manager.
The confirmation when promoting a curator to a manager.

Any manager can promote curators to manager in a studio by hovering over their username in the curator's tab, and clicking "promote". When creating a studio, one is automatically promoted to the manager position. Scratch Team members can also promote themselves to the manager position.[citation needed] There is no way to directly make someone a manager.

Note Warning: Make sure that you trust anyone you are promoting to manager. See section below for more details.

Problems

Commonly in studios with many managers, such as Add Everything studios and Get Managers studios, a manager may damage or vandalize the studio by removing an unreasonable amount projects and curators/managers or adding lots of irrelevant projects. Further problems can occur if managers begin deleting or inviting random curators and changing the title, description, or thumbnail of the studio. This can lead to a time-consuming fix-up. A manager who vandalizes a studio may receive an alert or ban. The only way to prevent damage to a studio is to only promote users one trusts.

Studio Owners

The owner of the studio is the user who created it. The only way to tell an owner from a manager is to look in the curator's tab, where the owner will be the first manager in the top-left of the list. The owner of the studio has the same capabilities as managers do with two differences: owners can't be removed from the studio and owners have the ability to delete the studio via their My Stuff page. However, if the owner of the studio deletes their account, they will no longer be the owner of the studio, and the studio itself will remain but without an owner.

See Also