Saving a project is usually done automatically by the Online Editor when a user changes something in the project. However, one may want to save a project themselves, such as to update the thumbnail, or simply to make sure that the content is saved. In any situation, being able to save a project manually is a good practice to prevent loss of data in unexpected situations.

Saving a Project Online

There are two ways of saving a project to the online editor. The most common way to save content is to click the 'Save Now' located on the top right corner of the editor.

The Save Now button is located on the top right editor.

Another way to save a project is to click 'File' in the toolbar, then from the dropdown menu, click 'Save Now'.

A third way to save a project is to press Ctrl+S (or Cmd+S on a Mac) on your computer keyboard.

Note Note: This method will trigger When S Key Pressed and When Any Key Pressed blocks.

A project is successfully saved when the save button displays 'project saved' and disappears. A project that is in the process of saving onto the server will display 'saving project', and will also display a throbber next to the 'saving project' text.

If a project doesn't successfully save, a window will appear, notifying the user that the project could not be saved. In the window, the user can choose to re-attempt to save the project by clicking 'Try Again', or choose to download the project as a file by clicking 'download'.

A window shows that an error occurred during an attempt to save along with the options a user can select.

Occasionally, projects will automatically save during the course of work.

Downloading a Project

In some cases, downloading a project may be useful for a user, such as backing up the contents of an important project to their own storage.

To download a project, click 'File' in the toolbar. From the dropdown menu, click 'Save to Your Computer'. This is start a download to your computer's 'downloads' folder. The project will be saved as an .sb3 file, which can later be uploaded back onto the original project.

When you are not connected to the internet or the project does not save for some other reason, there will be a popup giving you the option to download the project.

Uploading a Project

Note Caution: Uploading a project overwrites all of the contents of the project with the file. Projects cannot be merged together!

To upload a previously downloaded project, navigate to the project whose contents are to be replaced. (If the file was created offline, create a blank project for the file to replace.) Click 'File', then from the dropdown menu, click 'load from Your Computer'. Select the correct file, then click 'Open'. The project will then load onto the Scratch Editor. Project file sizes are maxed at 5 megabytes as a .json file. To see how large the project .json file is, download the project and change the .sb3 extension to .zip.

Offline Editor

The Offline Editor does not save projects automatically. To save a project offline, go to the File tab and click "Save to your computer." This will open a pop-up with a list of files. If you are changing the original project, press "Save" in the bottom-right corner (on most operating systems). To save a copy, change the name of the file and save it.

See Also

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.