(Redirected from Collab Accounts)

Collaboration Accounts are created when two or more different users make an account and share its credentials (username and password), often to work jointly on a single project without having to remix.

While we know these accounts can be convenient, we’ve seen some problems with them as well. Because of this, the Scratch Team strongly discourages the use of shared accounts.

– Paddle2See, Scratch Team[1]


Problems of Using Collaboration Accounts

This post explains why the Scratch Team discourages Collaboration Accounts. While such accounts can be quite helpful, they often pose many issues, especially pertaining to moderation.[2]

There is no official record of who did what on a collaboration account, and the Scratch Team does not hold any backup versions of projects, making the owner of the account liable for any changes that were made. There is also the risk of sharing contact information. Another user with access to the account can go into the Account Settings and see the owner's email.

The Scratch Team cannot know who is using the account at any given time. Therefore, the entire account is banned when it is used to break the Community Guidelines, bringing the possibility of accidentally blocking uninvolved users.

How to Convert a Shared Account

Note Caution: While collaboration and shared accounts do not need to be deleted, the Scratch Team recommends that the owners convert it to a single account.

The Scratch Team recommends that one user be designated the sole owner of the account. The person must change the account's password and email address to make it their own. Continually shared accounts may be blocked.[citation needed]

Alternatives to a Shared Account

There are many ways for a user to participate in collaborations without using a shared account.

Remixing and Backpacking

Using remixes, backpacked content from another project, and building off of the project one section at a time is a good way to promote remixing among a group. Placing the remixes into a studio can help organize the collaboration better.

The Collaboration Forum

Main article: Collaboration (forum)

Using the Collaboration forum can help people organize and plan the collaboration. This is a good way of publicly announcing your collaboration, and letting other scratchers get involved. The forum is also a good alternative to sharing private information or using an unmoderated chatroom, as users can talk with each other in a safe area.

Sharing on One Account

If the owner of the collaboration prefers to share the final project on one account, the user may permit one person to manage a single user account. Once the final project is able to be released, the user either downloads the project then uploads it as the official project, or remixes the final project and shares it.

FAQ

Are all shared Collab accounts going to be blocked?
No. If a shared collab account got blocked, the users of it would be asked to to convert it to a single user account.

What if someone wants to share an account with their Sister/Brother/Mother/Father?
It would most likely be okay. If sharing a computer with someone, and especially if using the computer together, it would be okay to use the same account if preferred.

A teacher makes the students use only one account - is that okay?
It is discouraged, because if one student broke the community guidelines, the entire class would lose their account.

References

  1. post:1791048
  2. Paddle2See. (14/2/2016). "We sometimes accidentally block people who weren’t even involved." topic:183361