A studio can be created by going to My Stuff and clicking "+ New Studio". A new studio will be created, with all of the default settings: name is "Untitled Studio"; 0 projects, comments, followers, and a default thumbnail; a description of "None"; and the creator as the only curator. After this, these settings can be changed.
The creator of the studio can edit it in many ways, and other users can make changes as well. The creator can add or remove curators, add or remove projects, and change the description, thumbnail, and title. Everyone can comment on or follow the studio. Curators can also add or remove projects. The creator may enable or disable comments, but regular curators can not.
You can change the studio image by pressing change picture at the top left corner of the current image and then selecting the image you want from your files. Scratch will automatically resize the picture so it will fit in the thumbnail.
Studios trump over galleries with the curators feature. This lets the creator decide exactly who can add and remove projects. The creator can invite people from who they are following, and who are following them, or by adding them by their username. Curators do not have all of the permissions that managers have, but he or she can still add and remove projects that they add themselves. The creator or a manager of the studio can delete curators by clicking the x in the top right corner of the user in the curators tab. Galleries did have a "some of my friends" feature, however this meant that you had to friend the users who you wanted to curate. In Scratch 2.0, friending is renamed to Following.
Managers have greater permissions in studio capabilities. They can add or remove any project in the studio and can even remove other curators or managers. They are also able to edit the title, notes or icon of a studio. Managers can also invite curators to the studio. To promote a curator to a manager, hover over their username and click the "Promote" button that appears. This can only be undone by removing the manager from the studio and then reinviting them. The creator of the studio is the "original manager" (also referred to as owner) and cannot be removed. He or she has the most control over the activity. It is recommended that you should only invite and promote curators that you trust.
There are two ways to add projects to a studio. One method allows multiple projects to a single studio; the other allows multiple studios for a single project. You are allowed to add as much projects as you like to a studio if the owner lets you, or if you are the owner.
From a Studio
When a user is a studio curator, they can add projects by clicking the add projects button, or the bar on the bottom. Both open the bar. It can show My Shared Projects, My Favorites, and My Recent Views. To add a project, click its thumbnail. Clicking the link below it will open the project. Projects can also be added by URL. To do this copy (ctrl + c) the link of the project in the search bar, then paste it (ctrl + v) in the bar beside the button that says add by url, one you've done that click add by url.
From a Project
From a project, one can click "Studios", which will open a section allowing them to add the project to studios that they curate. It lists the studios, showing their names and project counts. Clicking adds it to the studio, but does not update the count.
If one is an owner or manager of a studio, he or she has the privileges to remove any project in the studio. Curators that are not manager or owner can only remove projects they add themselves. Even if one is not curating for a studio, one may still remove his or her own projects from others' studios.
Removing One's Own Project
To remove one's own project from his or her own or someone else's studio, on the project statistics row, access the "Studios" tab. When clicked, a drop-down menu will appear consisting of all the studios the project is associated with. On the right-hand side of the drop-down menu are check marks: green ones mean the project is in the corresponding studio, and grey checks mean the project has not yet been added to that studio. Grey check marks will only appear next to studios one curates, because otherwise almost all studios on the website would have to be listed. To remove the project from the desired studio, click the green check mark next to the corresponding studio; the check mark will then turn grey, signifying it has been removed.
Differences from Galleries
Possibly the biggest difference from galleries is the curator feature, which allows the owner or other curators to invite curators. There are also numerous small differences, such as splitting into tabs, and no tags.
The name was changed because galleries were being used for many things other than simply showing projects. Examples include collaborations and RPGs. The Scratch Team decided a more general name would be better.
Places to Find Studios
Studios can be found all over the website. There are two Front Page sections: Featured Studios, and Projects in Studios I'm Following. Profile pages also list studios the user curates. You can also find them under games. If a game belongs to a studio, if you scroll down there is a studios tab. This is located right under the remixes tab.
- This article or section documents an outdated version of Scratch (version 2.0). For this article in Scratch 1.4, see Gallery.