|The subject of this article or section has changed dramatically and requires updating. Some information or images may not be accurate or relevant to the current version of Scratch, the Scratch website, or the article subject. (July 2022)|
Specifically: to change from Scratch 2.0 files to Scratch 3.0
- "Class" redirects here. For classes in Smalltalk, see Smalltalk#Classes and Instances.
Student and Teacher accounts are special types of accounts which allow Scratch for classroom use. They have the ability to participate in classes. The teacher accounts were released for beta testing by a selected group of teachers in late January 2016, and were officially released in mid-August 2016.
Before the creation of these accounts, they were commonly suggested by teachers. These accounts were planned in 2013. The Scratch Team started working on the accounts sometime after this date. The Scratch Team revealed work on this feature in May 2015.
|“||We're also working on a couple big projects, such as the student/teacher account system that would allow for better support for the schools who are using Scratch in their classrooms (a project that is very much long overdue for us).||”|
– Cheddargirl, Scratch Team
The first class was created in July 2015, most likely for testing purposes.
In October 2015, further knowledge about this feature was revealed with the public discovery of the Scratch Development server. This was followed by the discovery of more student and teacher accounts. The feature was confirmed by the Scratch Team. It is now known that these accounts have been added to Scratch, but may not be ready for the public for some time. These accounts are now more widely known among community members, and have been discussed frequently.
How it Works
The teacher who wishes to make a class must first register an account on the For Educators Page. Then, the user will have the account, but will be not able to use the teacher features until the Scratch Team checks the account and verifies that the account creator is an educator, which usually takes up to one day. Once approved, the teacher will have the ability to create a class. Then the class can be opened, and the teacher can invite students with a link.
If the class ends, the teacher can close the class. The students who are a part of the class will then no longer have the ability to log in, but the teacher can reopen the class at any time.
In addition, each student will have their own Profile Page. A class page can be created by the teacher, which displays the students, and class studios.
The teacher will be able to see all of the activity of their students, including when they:
Teachers can also delete their students' comments on profiles and studios.
Teachers are able to edit students' profile pages, including their About Me and What I'm working on sections and profile picture.
Teachers can change a student's password in two ways. They can prompt the student to change their password at next login, or manually change their password.
Teachers used to be able to delete student's comments on projects and unshare students' projects. This was removed with the release of Scratch 3.0. However, they are still able to delete profile and studio comments made by students.
A teacher reporting and unsharing a student's project in Scratch 2.0.
- A video about Student and Teacher accounts
- A page with educator resources
- A FAQ about teacher accounts
- Scratch Conference @ MIT 2016