|It has been suggested that this page's contents be merged with the page follower. You can discuss this on the page's talk page. (Date?)|
|This article or section documents something not included in the current version of Scratch (3.0). It is only useful from a historical perspective. For information on the feature that replaced this one, see Follow.|
A friend was a Scratcher that had been added to another Scratcher's friend list. When a friend was added, they were not entitled to any personal information that had been used to register, other than their username. Once someone was added as a friend, new projects they share would show up under the "My Friends' Latest Projects" section on the Front Page.
To add friends, all that was needed to do was go to the wanted user's profile and select the "add to friends" button. Once done, the user would receive a private notification that they had been added to one's friend list.
To remove users from one's friend list, one could visit one's friend list page and click the X's on the right of each added user's username.
Scratchers added others for reasons such as:
- Someone may have given help on a project
- To see any future projects the Scratcher will make
- If they know them in real life
- If they've posted a friendly comment on one of the user's projects
- If they join a particular gallery
- Because they consider that user an online friend