A follower is a Scratcher that has been added to another Scratcher's following list. When a friend is added, they are not entitled to any personal information that you have used to register, other than their username. Once someone is added as a friend, new projects they share will show up under the "My Friends' Latest Projects" section on the front Page. You can also see what they have been doing on Scratch on the what's happening section of the front page.
|Warning:||No matter how close you feel to a friend on Scratch, never share personal information (like your birthdate, name, password) or agree to meet up in public with them.|
To add friends, all you have to do is go to the wanted user's profile and select the "follow" button. Once done, the user will receive a private notification that they have been added to your friend list. Your activity feeds will show that you are following them.
To remove users from your friend list, visit the user's page and click the "unfollow" button.
Scratchers add others for reasons such as:
- Someone may have given help on a project
- To see any future projects the Scratcher will make
- If they know them in real life
- If they've posted a friendly comment on a project
- If they join a particular gallery
- Because they consider that user an online friend
It is possible for a user to add themselves to their friend list. This can be done using the following method:
- Log out of your account, but keep the tab open
- Log in to a different account on a new tab
- On the new account go to the userpage of your main account
- On the first tab log into your main account
- On the second tab click "add to friends"
This works because when one logs into an account, to the Scratch servers, it appears as though that person's IP is logged into the other account, yet the page doesn't update in realtime, meaning that a user can befriend themselves.